I don’t want to grow up

Avni
2 min readOct 10, 2023

Recalling those days, when everything looked beautiful to the eyes.

My excitement to become an adult was a continuous trail of life.

Today I am a grown-up adult but that excitement is gone. All that is left is fear, loss, love and an urge to remain going on, no matter what!

At the workplace, I am on alert mode, At home, I am less conscious and in between I am just “ME”. A child who doesn’t want to grow up, who can ask for things without guilt, who can show love without fear, who can call out disrespect without thinking about consequences.

I wonder when I was a kid, why it felt like everything would remain the same till now!

As the reality is different now, things drastically changed and this is what Growth is!

Nothing is permanent, my parents are becoming old, and my life is changing. I am going from everyone to no one because I realized that the void of nothingness exists the same for everyone.

Like my Grandmother used to say to me, “What you will do with an ego when Me and You are going to the same destination and buried in the same soil”

She has gone into the heavens but her words echoed in my heart now and then and that’s why *I don’t want to grow up*

I want to be alive in Now and I believe everyone should do the same!

--

--

Avni

A human being with an interest in living and exploring life with a bit of psychology, movies and books